About Us

Our Background

The National Registry began in 2003 as The National Registry of Workers’ Compensation Specialists. In 2018 The National Registry of Cyber Liability Specialists was added. 

The organizers felt that although there were several industry-related professional designations, some of which briefly taught about workers’ compensation or cyber liability very few focused entirely on these subjects. Additionally, other professional designations were geared exclusively toward insurance producers as opposed to a general audience. Worker’s compensation and cyber liability are about insurance coverages. However, human resource managers, government employees, attorneys, and other professionals regularly interact with these subjects and would benefit from additional training.

Professional Certification in Workers' Compensation and Cyber Liability

The National Registry’s goal therefore was to create focused training in workers’ compensation and cyber liability. It is also to recognize individuals who passed the required examinations with a professional designation.

Over the years we have found that many of our graduates are in fields other than insurance, including human resources, corporate risk management, medical.  We are proud of the fact that many organizations, both large and small will choose to use the Registered Workers’ Compensation Specialist® (RWCS™) and Registered Cyber Liability Specialist® (RCLS™) certifications as their training program of choice for their company for employees who deal with worker’s compensation, risk management, and cyber liability issues.

Porter T. Talbot, MSFS

Executive Director

Our Leadership

In accordance with our corporate mission and values, The National Registry has appointed
Porter T. Talbot, MSFS as Executive Director. 

Porter has more than 35 years experience in the insurance industry.  He received his Bachelor of Science degree from the University of the State of New York and Master of Science in Financial Services from the American College. In addition, he has earned multiple professional designations, including Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU), Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC), Life Underwriters Training Council Fellow (LUTCF), Health Insurance Associate (HIA), Registered Workers’ Compensation Specialist® (RWCS™) and Registered Cyber Liability Specialist® (RCLS).

“I am appreciative to be part of The National Registry in providing a quality workers’ compensation and cyber liability training programs.
Many years ago, when I first entered the insurance industry, I decided that if this was to be my chosen profession I would wanted to be the best that I was capable of becoming. That being said, I made continuing education a lifetime pursuit, earning multiple professional designations on the road to competency.

To me, obtaining the RWCS™ and RCLS™ certifications sets someone apart as a committed individual within the field of workers’ compensation and cyber liability.”